DAN STINEHART: Comic/Graphic Artist

PlayStation Memory

My PS2 Slim w/ Katsuhiro Otomo’s Memories DVD

As of February 20 and in regards to [tonight’s] PlayStation meeting (PS4 rumors being the big topic everyone has in mind), there was a Twitter hashtag currently trending simply called #PlayStationMemory (not that any of that matters for non-Twitter and some Twitter peeps). Apparently I had a hard time coming up with my own beside the few I tweeted earlier this morning. You can say I’m a late bloomer in the PlayStation brand.

Much like the majority of the gaming populace during the 90s, I was very aware of the PS1 but never did I have an interest in wanting one. Yes, it left me with a good impression whenever I visited one of my childhood friends during that time and enjoyed the games he had. It broke me out of that Nintendo bubble, temporarily, given back then I was a Nintendo loyalist; and probably the main reason why I decided against the console back in Christmas of 1998. (That and Superman 64 which I never knew why I originally wanted this prior to its lackluster reviews.)

Anyway, it wasn’t until 2004 that I stopped being a loyalist of Nintendo, and being a loyalist to anything in general. It started off with the Xbox that Christmas, and in spring 2005 is when I started to absorb myself (or as Jack Tretton said in E3 ’12, “soaking up the fans” or something like that) of the PlayStation brand. Starting with PSP.

However, prior to that, I played some games from a cousin’s PS2 back in the early 2000s. My uncle gave them the console (out of their request) and for a few weeks asked me to hold on to their then-received gift for whatever reasons I can’t seem to remember. Within that short time I played a handful of games, both from their library or via rental, and really enjoyed the console. Especially Jak and Daxter (but having replayed it again via PSN, umm yeah…). Again, I decided against it because of (dare I repeat myself?) my then mild mentality on all-things Nintendo.

Anyway, I received the PS2 Slim (by request) from that same uncle back in 2006. I will say that Okami and Shadow of the Colossus were the titles that convinced me to get it in full. That and my friends’ PS2/games during our respected lass summer session in Upward Bound leading to college the year before.

In 2009, I bought the PS3 Slim for three reasons: LittleBigPlanet, Demon’s Souls, and (still in limbo) The Last Guardian. I don’t have much to say other than the fact it’s my favorite console of the 7th generation. (Same can be said for PS2 ala 6th gen given the Gamecube originally took that spot.)

As far as memories go (since I want to stay on subject), I really don’t have that many due to my late blooming toward PlayStation in general.

However, there was one in 2011 (or was it 2012, can’t remember) when I played a co-op session in Portal 2 with Matt (aka co-host of the since-then defunct 3DScussions podcast). Mainly because I witnessed his earning the Platinum trophy in-session.

Then there are the small things like Symphony of the Night which I purchased a few years after my PS2 investment. Having to glance at every detail of Richter Belmont by Ayami Kojima from the manual for ten minutes straight was satisfying (this before I actually started the game shortly after).

That and learning the PS2 version of Deux Ex can be played using the keyboard and mouse, which strangely enough the packaging failed to mention any of this.

And of course having to buy Demon’s Souls over in Canada (where I can logically see from my house, lol) because all the stores in my local residence didn’t have it in stock (and this was prior to using Amazon).

And so on and so on…

I guess I do have much to say about my PlayStation memories, and if I come up with any more, I’ll update them here. (Nah, not really. I’ll have Twitter do that for me, heh.)

-

As far as the [upcoming] live briefing [tonight], I don’t know what to expect. Possibly PS4. Possibly more enthusiasm and motivation towards Vita. Possibly more Riiiidge Racer (and maybe another $599 fiasco if PS4 is officially announced). I don’t know. Wait and see I guess.

Until next time.

Dan

4 responses

  1. Well now I have to steal this blog idea. Fun! :D

    2013/02/20 at 2:14 PM

    • Dan J Stine

      Feel free to. Then again, I’m betting others have the blog idea in mind as well. ;)

      2013/02/20 at 2:17 PM

  2. Enjoyable read. :)

    2013/02/20 at 4:02 PM

  3. James

    We’ve discussed my Playstation memories (PS-X and PS2 RPGs, my thirty-five hour marathon with Tales of Legendia, Burnout: Revenge, my uncle and stepdad playing Madden 2003), so I’ll leave those alone. You weren’t the only one who was late to the party regarding PS2 as one of my earliest GS friends (Comthitnuong, aka the Shuffle! addict) had received his around 2007 and I compiled a timeline in order to bring him up to speed.

    Both you and Matt have had way more PS3 experiences than I, but my time with PS3 was brief. I thank my sister for giving it to me as a gift, Matt for recommending the Uncharted series, you for Demon Souls and SE for allowing the release of Sleeping Dogs. As for PS4, I’m going to have to sit back and spectate while you guys play.

    2013/02/21 at 12:20 PM